Daily Prompt: Erasure

You have the choice to erase one incident from your past, as though it never happened. What would you erase and why?
 

Unfortunately, the first thing I thought about when I saw the Daily Prompt, was the day I proposed.  It’s not the actual act that I would take back per se, but the whole way I went about it. Everything about that day was wrong and, in my heart, I knew that she wouldn’t say yes and her heart prevented her from saying a resounding NO, I’m sure.  However, not getting a yes even though I knew we were having substantial problems and weren’t together at the time, I’m still tainted by it.  I’m not sure how I thought she would respond, given the current mental state she was probably in at the time, but I just thought that her love for me and something as grand as a marriage proposal would have shown her how committed and in love with her I was.  At any rate, definitely not a great memory and is one of those things that I feel has contributed to this downward spiral that I’m currently in.  I have always felt that if you loved someone truly, even if it was just a little bit, it mattered and things would work themselves out with a little time and effort.  Life is, however, full of surprises and rude awakenings.  We all have to learn, even if it is the hard way. If I could erase the heartache of this day, I could probably take on anything.

Leave a Reply

