The Poem #2

So I have been thinking a lot (over-thinking really) about the poem that Veronica decided to send me on Tuesday. Of course I want to hear from her, I just prefer, no need, some consistency from her. That means if she is going to reach out to me, it can’t be once a month.  It not only confuses me, but also sets me back.  When I feel like I am finally able to deal with the loss of her, she comes back.  I want her to stay so badly, but then I will reach out to her and then nothing–no response at all and I am left feeling empty and abandoned.  At any rate, the real reason for this post was to share the response to the poem she wrote me:

Evaluting Conscious

lingered thoughts of yesterday’s mistakes form callouses
around hearts hungry
for numbness

A passion’s hatred bares
consent to strangers thinking
only of lust

carnal instinct captures
snippets of tomorrow’s memories trained for one

bored curiosity lead
hands into uncharted pastures searching subjects deemed
taboo

traces of a past life linger
stalls escape from this puppet master cloaked
in rage

diamonds carve out a life
I once dreamed shattered
by a wrath I cannot tame

arms outstreached
seeking resilience

Leave a Reply

