Moving On, Standing Still

Moving On, Standing Still
 

a bone structure 
I couldn’t draw 
in Art class

 
staring at his picture resting
comfortably in your downloads
smile flickered 
nicely off your phone screen

pulls at my strings
controlling the stomping
grounds I used
to play tag on

running free
as the wind blows
simple reminders
of what interlocked
fingers felt like
when a smile followed

 
yea, I always stood on your left

now tears form
with nowhere to fall
but flat
on my face intoxicated
drugs race through
a blood stream immune
to life’s transgressions

 
in the dark, it’s messy
and I keep hitting my head
on this door frame
without forgiveness
 
drunk, I cower 
in the corner lonely
One response to “Moving On, Standing Still

Leave a Reply

