Questionable Objective

Questionable Objective

ever see a man defiled?
defeated?
beaten down
by the fists of his own guilt?

stared in the mirror this morning
baring loosen teeth, scrapes,
a few burns and bruises

trying to get off this ride
with no amusement
shaken to my core
with questions
why did I do it?

too far has come and gone
slit wrists has garnered
skin tough
the way to redemption lies
in a promise I will never retrieve
so I break bread
with demons instead

just to keep up with my social network
feeding a fury of neediness
boiling in my blood

such a sacrifice
to keep a sad face at bay
moving up
to dinner with the devil?
a chance I’ll surely take

Leave a Reply

