Quantifying Love

When I love, I take it to the extreme, going above and beyond, no matter the cost to me physically and mentally.  The problem has always been that I can’t my love for one, for another.  When I love a person, I love them without restriction, whether it’s a family member, friend or significant other.  In the past 2-3 years, I have questioned how significant a woman has to be for me to love her above everyone/everything else in my life and it is one of the very few times my mind runs blank.  No question, I have a problem with being open, allowing others in, therefore, my love is only given to a select few.  Once they have it, I can’t take it back; trust me, I have tried.  It has single-handedly ruined my best connections, leaving my life out of order. I can’t help what I feel or what I think, which, at this point, is doing more harm than creating any positivity in my life.  Everyone wants the top of the pedestal; to feel more special than the next. I just can’t quantify like that nor can I let go and my heart cracks everyday because of it. I’m just at a loss on how to change or if I even should or could. How can it be a mistake to love without limits no matter the individual?

One response to “Quantifying Love

  1. I don’t think it is a mistake. I think love is meant to be without limits. Perhaps one day you will find someone, or they will find you, that will give you the same kind of love that you have always given. I hope you recognize them when they come into your life.

Leave a Reply

