I Still Can Breathe

I Still Can Breathe

mental instability
causing inconsistency
in my belief
to love you
garnished with a flower
served up a plate of promise
too far gone to enjoy

so I break bread
with someone else
while you marinate
your juices on something less deserving

so unsecure walking
in these untied shoes
my care isn’t as strong
like a broken Olympian
it’s a struggle to carry
this pain
trying to right wrongs
I can’t change

researched how to break
this bond before
tried to turn away
but with your memory etched
in my skin
I count my stars
just to sleep peacefully
basking in my own element
I still can breathe

Leave a Reply

