Mr. Dream

Mr. Dream

erase the feels of silk
long tresses
that flowed through fingertips
the anxiousness awaiting
our connection of lips
and starry-eyed visions
when we first met

hey mister mister
please don’t take
me back

to tears of every memory
good and bad
showing what I miss
out on everyday I keep
living this lie
teasing me with hallucinating
voices saying I love you
like she used to

hey mister mister
please don’t take
me back

to broken hearts, dreams,
and things I can’t fix
with plaster
building up my life again
a cracked soul
without tools to repair

hey mister mister
please don’t take
me back

to dreams
guiding me to nightmares
pretending she’s around
the next corner open arms
instead it’s an alleyway bashing
heads with a lead pipe
as I found my way
on the wrong side of her vengeance

hey mister mister
please don’t take
me back

to when the dust settled
and my life ripped in two
too stubborn to realize
her truth
only me and her
like it should’ve  been
when I was too afraid of change
too blind to see the ache
in eyes still trying 
to mimic sunrises

hey mister mister
please don’t take
me back

to being defeated
facing a reminder
I’m now only
a hollow shell

Leave a Reply

