I Don’t Want to Love Anymore

I Don’t Want to Love Anymore

deeper than the blade resting
in my rib cage
wetter than the blood-soaked
tissues I use to stop
its bleeding

tears falling
from lack of sleep
thoughts glued
to the image
of you smiling and dancing
around kitten eyes
watching perfection

forcing a dream of anonymity
but your picture is as clear
as the day you first kissed
away a pain too great
to keep me steady

for what was whole
now lay in pieces scattered
across a floor neither of us walk
on anymore

Leave a Reply

