Love’s Deathbed

Love’s Deathbed

now I say I love you just to hear it said back, without meaning, to a soul that died long ago ~ O3

in the depth of despair riddled
in bones made of rage
I no longer crave
the voice that has left
me lifeless
tear ducts seared
like limbs cauterized useless

but I still ponder
what is unconditional
if it has conditions?

so I lay pretending
I’m not burdened
by the demons chiseling
away at thoughts no longer my own

my heart’s broken
by the only hands strong
enough to handle its weight
my own

Leave a Reply

